Antipope - Rex Mundi (Release date: October 28th, 2022)


Upcoming Release:

Antipope - Rex Mundi
Country: Finland
Genre: Prog Heavy Metal
Label: Moribund Records
Release date: October 28th, 2022

Antipope - Church of Wolves (Official Audio)

Finland’s ANTIPOPE return with their highly anticipated Genre-Melding 6th Album of Melodic and Progressive Heavy Metal: 'Rex Mundi'! A conceptual, progressive melodic Heavy Metal masterpiece based on the 1200’s Cathar Crusades.
The ever transforming but always recognizable, progressive, melodic heavy metal artisans Antipope are a staple in today’s modern hard music scene. Since their founding in 2004 they have released 5 full length albums, “Desert” (2010), “House of Harlot” (2011), “3 Eyes of Time” (2013), “Denial / Survival” (2017), culminating with 2020’s break-through release “Apostle of Infinite Joy” on Fertile Crescent / Moribund Records.
Finland’s icons of melodic and progressive metal return with their highly anticipated 6th album “Rex Mundi”. A through-and-through concept album is set in the 1200’s based on the Albigensian Crusade / Cathar Wars, delivering 11 bold tracks of progressive, melodic and deeply conceptual metal unrestricted by the confines of any singular genre. The bloody, brutal and tragic story of the birth of the Inquisition and the rise of the church of Rome as the spiritual super-power of the era is backed by melodic yet heavy guitar rhythms which breathe with acoustic segments, all interspersed amongst monster metal riffs and searing drum grooves. The album showcases a depth and range of sound and variation demanded by the epic, brutal, and tragic story told on “Rex Mundi”!
Track Listing:
1. Plague of Heresy and Madness (1:15)
2. Rex Mundi Aeternum (10:00)
3. Hounds of Lord (6:15)
4. Eye of the Storm (5:57)
5. Glory of Slaughter (3:37)
6. Nameless Ritual to Traverse the Abyss between Darkness and Light (6:14)
7. When the Day Is Done (4:44)
8. Mysterious Ways of Loss, Grief, and Distress (1:55)
9. Twilight of the Grey Gods (5:06)
10. Church of Wolves (5:10)
11. Hell on Earth (6:22)