Kilmore - Firestone


What's New:

Kilmore, a band from Halifax, Canada, is preparing to release their new EP "From The Inside" in late March. The EP consists of six tracks of stoner rock with metal influences, and the lyrics were written during a time of global change and internal struggle. Vocalist and guitarist Heather Harris became a mother, adding to the emotional intensity of the album. Kilmore worked with producer Jon Landry in their basement studio to bring the songs to life. The band conveys themes of rebirth, love, hate, frustration, understanding, and the search for truth in their darker-edged sonic palette. Their latest single "Firestone" and its accompanying music video express feelings of brokenness and loneliness while searching for the light. The video features a winter wonderland scene after a snowstorm. Kilmore believes this EP is their best work to date and are excited to release it to the world.
Kilmore's forthcoming EP "From the Inside" follows their East Coast Music Award-nominated 2015 EP "City Lights", and 2018 LP "Call of the Void", which won the 2019 ECMA "Loud Recording of the Year".
Recommended for fans of Royal Thunder, Baroness, Ghost, and The Damn Truth, "From the Inside" is due out on March 31st, 2023.
Digital pre-save:
Track Listing:​
1. Tempest (3:43)
2. Omitted (4:29)
3. The Destroyer (3:04)
4. Firestone (3:59)
5. Underneath (4:13)
6. Rapture (4:22)
EP Length: 23:50
About: Kilmore finds its roots deep in influence from two siblings who immigrated from Newry, Northern Ireland at an early age to Vancouver, BC, and eventually to Halifax, Nova Scotia. Two new Canadians growing up in the nineties, finding their musical diet of grunge to surpass the time.
Fast forward to 2013, sister and brother Heather Harris (vocals, guitars) and Dan Doran (guitars) formed with the addition of Neil Spence (bass) and Lor Sangster (drums) to the original lineup. Sangster was later replaced in 2019 by Jon MacIsaac (drums) from local bands Chosen Lung, Burdened, Earth Alter to complete the current lineup.
Dark, aggressive, brawny, and haunting, Kilmore is recommended for fans of Royal Thunder, Baroness, Windhand, and The Damn Truth.
Earshot Top 200 – Kilmore - Call The Void - #118 – July 2018 (Earshot)
“Call of the Void, the riffs are relentless as the band channels gloom through minor chords…The spirit of darkness breathes through the lyrics as Kilmore reminds us rock is alive and well.” – The Coast
“the heavy and bluesy sounds really drive home those themes of reckless behaviour and dark feelings… The band effectively portray their intended emotions and messages to the listener through their music while providing them with something to bang their head—or groove—to.” – The East Magazine
“The opening title cut begins City Lights with brawny, distorted guitar licks, steadily pounding drums and wailing vocals akin to classic rock radio. This sets the tone for the four-piece's muscular sound, as tracks like "Rising Sun" and "Weight of the World" are similarly stuffed with meaty riffage, while "Peace of Mind" is slightly more restrained and slow-burning. The curveball is "Younger Years," which ventures into a folk rock direction with its acoustic strums.” - Exclaim!
#8 on This Week’s Top 11 Playlist: 08 April 2016 - A Journal of Musical Things - Alan Cross (Kilmore, City Lights, City Lights EP)