EGRES - "Higher Beings"


What's New:
EGRES Releases Explosive New Single "Higher Beings"
EGRES, the progressive metal band from Helsinki, has just released their highly anticipated new single, "Higher Beings". Following the success of their debut album, "Introspection", released in June 2022, the band is taking their style to even greater heights with this new track. "Higher Beings" showcases the talents of lead vocalists Juuso Tolonen and Tristan Lumme, who have previously provided backing vocals. This latest single is more diverse and perhaps even heavier than their previous work, offering listeners a breathtaking experience that reveals new surprises with each listen.
The composer of "Higher Beings", Pekka Virtanen, describes the song as both a musical and creative journey. The initial demo for the song was created in the early spring of 2021, while the band was rehearsing for their debut album. At that time, the song was a promise of what was to come after "Introspection". The process of creating "Higher Beings" was challenging and at times felt like it would never come together. However, with the support of his bandmates and producer Mikko Aaltio, Virtanen was able to bring the song to life. For him, "Higher Beings" is a rollercoaster of emotions that is both scary and captivating. It has been an incredible journey every step of the way.

"Higher Beings" may offer a glimpse into the future direction of EGRES and the diverse potential within the group. The song explores the theme of awakening to an unhealthy hierarchy, with the dialogue carried by three different characters. Hanna Lahtinen, responsible for the lyrics, describes "Higher Beings" as her first song with EGRES. Just two years ago, she could only dream of being in the band and hearing her own singing recorded. The recording process was intricate and rewarding, thanks in large part to Helena Haaparanta, who expertly guided them in the studio.
The production of "Higher Beings" involved notable Finnish professionals. The mixing was handled by Topias Kupiainen, known for his work with the band Arion, while the mastering was done by Svante Forsbäck, who has collaborated with bands like Apocalyptica and Rammstein. Making his debut as a producer for EGRES, Mikko Aaltio played a crucial role in the project, also handling the songs orchestration. Vocal producer Helena Haaparanta, known for her work with bands like Crimfall and Tacere, ensured the vocals were top-notch.
To celebrate the release of their new single, EGRES will be embarking on a small tour. Here are the confirmed dates:
- November 15th: Bar Loose, Helsinki
- November 25th: Skenesali, Vantaa
- March 28th: Tapper, Tallinn
EGRES consists of the following talented musicians:
- Hanna Lahtinen: Vocals
- Tristan Lumme: Piano & Vocals
- Pekka Virtanen: Bass
- Vilma Peltokangas: Cello
- Tommi Nissinen: Drums
- Juuso Tolonen: Guitar & Vocals

To keep up with EGRES, follow them on social media:
- Inverse Records: